It’s almost summer here in Sacramento….and the mercury is rising. So, the greenhouse needed some attending to in preparation for the scorching summer heat. Therefore, I haven’t posted in a while….however, the orchid world did not wait for me…the result? – Several orchids in bloom and lots of material to share!

The largest of the Spring 2017 bloomers…Maxillaria tonsbergii…a  more recently discovered Maxillaria species from Venezuela, not very common in cultivation. This is a rather large plant with 12 inch long leaves set on 2 inch tall flattened pseudobulbs which boast an impressively large flower approximately 5.5 inches tall and 3 inches across. The flowers are sweetly fragrant and last approximately 8-10 weeks.

Being an intermediate cool grower, this plant flowered in Spring with three spikes from the base of the maturing pseudobulb. I grow this potted in a clay pot with medium bark mixture and fertilize it with 1/4 strength 20-20-20 fertilizer every week. The plant is situated on the floor of the greenhouse where it is much cooler, but gets a fair bit of sunlight throughout the day (about 1,200 foot candles using my light meter). I got this   plant from Dan Newman of Hanging Gardens early in 2016 and so far it has been a bit of a slow grower for me. I am waiting to observe the growth habit of this plant once the flowers fade away.

 

